Official Baja SAE Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Design Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Design Judging Discussion

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Organizer
Organizer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote schooter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Design Judging Discussion
    Posted: Apr/15/2015 at 3:52pm

Hi Everyone,

I would like to open a discussion to provide students insight and advice for design judging. Please remember that I am only one of many design judges, I was involved in SAE as a student and I'm still learning.

My Background:

Just to simply introduce myself I’ll provide a quick background. I have been a SAE Baja design judge three times and have previously been invited to be trained as a FSAE judge at Lincoln. Most recently I was a design judge in bay C at Auburn. I have four years of experience in various transportation industries with Caterpillar. Due to much reorganization and the rotation program I have been involved in many aspects including much design, some research and testing and even some time in parts cost reduction. My educational background is in mechanical and electrical engineering.

Besides my work experience I worked four years as a mechanic in a small town “we’ll work on anything” type of shop. I also spent considerable time learning welding and machining during that time. Additionally I’ve spent time in the pits of dirt track cars and other small engine machines. Currently I’m prepping a supermoto bike for track days which may lead to some part time racing. Generally speaking motorsports is an active hobby of mine along with music, fitness and finances.

My Design Judging Perspective: