Official Baja SAE Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Design Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Chain and CVT guarding

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Double Secret Probation
Double Secret Probation

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jtrnw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Chain and CVT guarding
    Posted: Mar/17/2017 at 9:49pm
I've been a lurker on the forum for a while, and I finally decided to jump in. This is my first year on Baja (and sadly my last, senoir)

Regardless I've finally stumped the search function. I'm working on the guarding of the CVT and chains on my team's car, and I'm looking for ideas.  Rule B15.2 says

"Rotating parts must also be guarded all around, in addition to the guard around the periphery. All around guarding (finger guards) must prevent small, searching fingers from getting caught in any rotating part. Non rigid, fabric coverings such as "Frogskin", Ceconite, and neoprene are unacceptable for use as finger guards. A complete cover around the engine and drivetrain is an acceptable shield."

My teams driveline package is very tight, what I'm wondering is if I can use the engine as "part" of my guard. If there is nowhere for a chain to escape if it cuts loose would that be accepted? Or does the guard have to guard the engine as well? I can always create a box for the entire driveline, it'll just be huge and heavy, and there must be a better solution. Maybe there is another solution I haven't thought of. I've included a cad picture of the driveline layout and one area of concern below. What do you guys think?

http://i.imgur.com/w5bVqKrl.png

The Orange circles are large sprockets. What I'm concerned about is between the last sprocket and the second to last. As can be seen below the small sprocket wound up a little closer to the muffler than intended.

http://i.imgur.com/2XbNMoBl.jpg
SIyer View Drop Down
Bolt Sorter
Bolt Sorter